mobile menu
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
harford bank welcomes you
Company / About Us

About Us

Vision Statement

Harford Bank will be an independent, locally owned and managed, full-service bank, responsive to the needs of our customers and our community. We are committed to delivering a superior customer experience, providing fulfilling careers, and a competitive return to our shareholders.


1964 Board of Directors

Inaugural Board of Directors (1964): N. Joseph Lee, Jr., Clark D. Connellee, Lester Davis, Vice President Frank G. Novak, Chairman of the Board Frederick J. Viele, Executive Vice President Ray J. Boschen, Earl B. Crabtree, Richard R. Samuels, Charles T. Oliver, George Adams and Charles W. Irwin.

Community Has Always Been Our Strength

In the early 1960s, Harford County was growing into a suburban residential area for Baltimore City. Specifically, the city of Aberdeen, strategically located near rail facilities and major roadways, was expected to see a significant population increase in the coming years. Business development was on the rise and the housing market was expanding.

During that time, Aberdeen’s only independent bank, First National, was unceremoniously absorbed by the Baltimore-based Equitable Trust Company. The merger was largely unpopular with the locals who wanted to maintain a bank owned and operated by members of its local community, and that understood the town’s specific financial needs. Equitable Trust’s takeover prompted a group of young and determined businessmen in the area to organize a neighborhood National Bank which would serve its residents.

In May of 1964, Frederick Viele (lumber dealer and hardware merchant), Earl Crabtree (bank consultant and former national bank examiner), Richard Samuels (real estate man and beverage distributor), Charles Oliver (president of Wilson-Oliver Insurance Agency), and Augustine Dolezal (president of Bata Shoe Company, Inc.) realized their dream when Aberdeen National Bank opened its doors to the public. Bank president, Mr. Viele, later noted that, “the Bank is playing an increasingly important part in the thriving Aberdeen and Harford County economy, with banking services tailored to the area which we serve.”

As the Bank began to expand throughout the county, in 1980, Aberdeen National Bank became Harford National Bank to better reflect its reach. In 2001, the Board of Directors officially changed its name to Harford Bank.

We continue to be an independent, locally owned and managed bank committed to our communities, with branches in Harford and Cecil Counties. While the Bank stays true to its mission, it has become a comprehensive financial institution with the ability to offer all the services and conveniences of a large bank, but with the personal attention our customers deserve. Here at Harford Bank, we will always be a neighbor you can count on, just like our founders had hoped.

Serving as president have been:

Frederick J. Viele (1964-1968)

R. Raymond Mitchell (1968-1981)

Richard W. Wilkinson (1981-2000)

Charles H. Jacobs, Jr. (2000-2019)

Michael F. Allen (since 7/2019)